2018 football schedule announced, program undergoes changes for next season
The 2018 and 2019 football seasons were recently announced by the Iowa High School Athletic Association (IHSAA). In January, the IHSAA Board of Control completed its biannual review of football districts.

A ninth district has been added to class 1-A, 2-A, and 3-A. Denver, who plays in class 1-A, will continue to play Lake Mills and Sumner-Fredericksburg as they did in the previous year but have added Aplington-Parkersburg, North Butler, and Osage to their district.

The IHSAA has determined that the road to state will change. Beginning in the 2018 season, only the district champion will automatically qualify for playoffs. The remainder, IHSAA has determined, will be based on a rating system. The Ratings Percentage Index (RPI) is based on three criteria: the team’s winning percentage, the opponent’s composite winning percentage, and the opponents’ opponents’ composite winning percentage. The IHSAA states that the RPI system, which is currently being used in various forms in multiple NCAA sports, has the advantage of being very transparent and accurate. Each team will play five district games and four non-district games. All regular season games will be counted toward the RPI calculation. As in the past, sixteen teams will make it to playoffs.

2018 Football Schedule:

08/24 Dike-New Hartford
08/31 @Wapsie Valley, Fairbank
09/07 West Marshall, State Center
09/14 North Fayette Valley
09/21 @Osage
09/28 Aplington-Parkersburg
10/05 @Sumner-Fredericksburg
10/12 @North Butler
10/19 Lake Mills
Back to Stories

  • ad
  • ad
  • ad
  • ad
  • ad