Cyclone football season was a wild ride
By Sean Kiefer

The 2019 Denver Cyclone Football Season has been a wild ride. The Cyclones, who started 0-3 to the season, were almost able to come back from the doldrums and make it into the playoffs with a 5-1 record the rest of the season, ending the 2019 schedule with a 5-4 record. This season was also a final season for seniors Peyton Dobbs, Ely South, Nathan Eggena, Trevor Dorn, Colton Reiter, Logan Tierney, and Mitchil Thuesen.

The start of the season was rough for the Cyclones but somewhat expected. Their season opener was at Dike-New Hartford, a title-contending team in class 2A, so they cruised by the Cyclones 48-0. The next two games against Wapsie Valley and West Marshall were close battles with Denver losing by a combined 9 points. After the 0-3 start, the Cyclones bounced back and knocked off North Fayette Valley 29-7 in a game where they saw everything on offense and defense come together. The momentum would cease to exist in their homecoming game against a very talented Osage team, when the Cyclones lost 24-7. The Cyclones, now desperate to get into the playoffs, would win two crucial games against Sumner-Fredericksburg and Aplington-Parkersburg to keep their playoff hopes alive.
However, despite the Cyclones winning their last 2 games against North Butler and Lake Mills, Osage would stay ahead of them to keep the Cyclones out of the playoffs and end their season with a final record of 5-4.

Stats wise, Isaac Besh led the Cyclones in passing this season with 840 yards and 9 passing touchdowns. The run game was primarily Nathan Eggena who had an impressive 1,028 rushing yards and 12 touchdowns. Defensively, Logan Tierney, Cooper Isaacson, and Trevor Dorn led the defense for most of the season. Sophomores Trevan Reiter and Caylor Hoffer saw playing time in the secondary at the cornerback and safety positions. Overall, credit should be given to how the Cyclones overcame their poor start to the season and stared into the face of the challenge and went 5-1 after that. Congratulations on the great season!

Denver 2019 coaches were Mike Isaacson, Chad Tierney, Seth Bonnette, Travis Miller and Head Coach Rhett Barrett.
Back to Stories

  • ad
  • ad